A Millennial and November 9th, 2016

It’s easy to say from a position of privilege that today is just another day, that life will go on but it most certainly is not just another day. My heart is broken, my faith is shattered, my mind is numb, and my soul is bleeding.

Not for myself, no, but for my marginalized brothers and sisters. For the oppressed, for the homeless, for the poor, for my friends and neighbors in the lgbtq+ community, for Black lives, Latinx lives, Asian – American lives, Muslim lives, for my sisters and my sisters of color, for the youth, and for all who have faced injustice in a land that is suppose to protect them.

I am so, deeply, horrendously, sorry. This country has failed you. We have ignored your suffering and elected to office someone who has built his campaign on hate and prejudice. It is unacceptable. It is deplorable. It is disgusting.

It’s not much, a mere flicker of a flame to gale force winds, but I will continue to fight for you. I will forever stand by your side to see you win. I will always give you my unconditional love. We will fight through these next four years, and the four years after that. We will persevere. We are the future.

My apology is simple but my love for you is strong. I see you, I know your fear, and I will stand with you until the end of time. I am so sorry.

I love you.

Leave a Reply

